ARK™ Pregabalin II Urine Assay

The Pregabalin II Assay from ARK Diagnostics, Inc. is a homogeneous enzyme immunoassay for the qualitative and semi-quantitative determination of pregabalin in human urine. This assay is a fast, sensitive and convenient alternative to the more time-consuming chromatographic methods to establish misuse or abuse of pregabalin and may be easily integrated into existing drugs of abuse screening procedures.

Assay Characteristics

  • Rapid, convenient screening method
  • Highly specific method for the determination of pregabalin in human urine
  • No cross-reactivity with gabapentin at 5,000 µg/mL
  • No cross-reactivity with L-amino acids at 200 µg/mL
  • Tested endogenous compounds did not show any interference with the assay
  • Liquid, ready-to-use reagents, calibrators and controls
  • Storage at 2-8°C
  • On-board stability at least 60 days
  • Application protocols for all major clinical chemistry analyzers
Specialty Diagnostix ARK Pregabalin Urine Assay

Background

Pregabalin is an anticonvulsant originally developed as a successor for gabapentin to which it is structurally closely related. It is considered the drug of choice for central and peripheral neuropathic disorders and for the treatment of fibromyalgia and certain forms of epilepsy.

92-99% of pregabalin is excreted unchanged in urine. Its elimination half-time is approximately 6 to 7 hours. Although pregabalin is officially considered to have a low potential for abuse, a growing number of publications are reporting abuse, especially in patients with a previous history of addiction. In addition, patients treated with pregabalin appear to develop a tolerance that may easily slip into addiction, especially with regular use. The same publications report on serious withdrawal symptoms.

The known side effects include a feeling of euphoria, relaxation, significantly increased self-confidence, loss of inhibitions, as well as concentration issues, dizziness and visual distortions. In combination with alcohol, benzodiazepines or opioids, these effects may be multiplied.

ARK™ Pregabalin II Urine Assay

Der Pregabalin II Assay von ARK Diagnostics, Inc. ist ein homogener Enzymimmunoassay zur qualitativen bzw. semi-quantitativen Bestimmung von Pregabalin in Humanurin. Der Test ist eine schnelle und zweckmäßige Alternative zu den zeitaufwendigeren chromatographischen Methoden, insbesondere bei der Erkennung eines Pregabalin-Missbrauchs. Er ist auf allen gängigen Analysensystemen einsetzbar und kann so bequem in die vorhandene Drogenscreening-Routinepanels eingebunden werden.

Assay Charakteristika

  • Schnelles, bequemes Screening-Verfahren
  • Hochspezifische Methode zur Pregabalin-Bestimmung in Humanurin
  • Keine Kreuzreaktivität zu Gabapentin bei 5000 µg/ml
  • Keine Kreuzreaktivität mit L-Aminosäuren bei 200 µg/ml
  • Keine Interferenzen mit getesteten endogenen Substanzen
  • Flüssige, gebrauchsfertige Reagenzien, Kalibratoren und Kontrollen
  • Lagerung bei 2-8°C
  • On-board Stabilität mindestens 60 Tage
  • Applikationsprotokolle für alle gängigen klinisch-chemischen Analysensysteme
Specialty Diagnostix ARK Pregabalin Urine Assay

Hintergrund

Pregabalin ist ein Antikonvulsivum, das ursprünglich als Nachfolgeprodukt von Gabapentin entwickelt wurde, mit dem es strukturell eng verwandt ist. Es gilt als Mittel der Wahl bei zentralen und peripheren neuro-pathischen Erkrankungen und wird darüber hinaus zur Behandlung von Fibromyalgie und bestimmten Epilepsie-Formen eingesetzt.

Pregabalin wird zu 92-99% unverändert über den Urin ausgeschieden. Die Halbwertszeit liegt bei ungefähr 6 bis 7 Stunden. Obwohl Pregabalin offiziell nur ein geringes Missbrauchspotential zugeschrieben wird, berichtet eine wachsende Zahl von Publikationen von tatsächlichem Missbrauch, vor allem bei Patienten mit vorangegangenen Suchterkrankungen. Darüber hinaus scheinen Patienten, die mit Pregabalin therapiert werden, insbesondere bei regelmäßigem Gebrauch eine Toleranz zu entwickeln, die leicht in eine Abhängigkeit abgleiten kann. Außerdem wird von schwerwiegenden Entzugserscheinungen berichtet.

Zu den bekannten Nebenwirkungen zählen ein Gefühl von Euphorie, Entspannung, eine signifikante Steigerung des Selbstbewusstseins, der Verlust von Hemmungen, aber auch Konzentrationsprobleme, Schwindel und visuelle Verzerrungen. In Kombination mit Alkohol, Benzodiazepinen oder Opioiden können sich diese Effekte potenzieren.